Logo UPJ Pro Bono Rechtsberatung

FAQs for organisations

UPJ Pro Bono Rechtsberatung sources legal advice on a wide range of issues. Some typical areas of law are listed on the page “Legal Advice”.

In principle, a wide range of requests and areas of law can be accepted for referral by UPJ Pro Bono Rechtsberatung. However, the following requests in particular cannot be accepted for referral:

  • urgent matters;
  • requests on behalf of a third party;
  • requests from private individuals that do not concern establishing an organisation;
  • administrative or tax law issues that are not related to a legal request;
  • requests for representation in court.

In principle, there is no limit to the number of legal requests that you can submit. It is sometimes possible to bundle several legal requests into one pro bono matter. More complex requests will sometimes need to be split into several matters. UPJ will take a decision on this following a preliminary review by lawyers and will discuss the decision with you.

UPJ charges a small fee for each matter placed with a law firm. The fee reflects the sincerity of the request and the required cooperation, in order to ensure that the legal advice generates a swift result. The fee depends on the one hand on the number of full-time employees at the organisation and on the other hand on the complexity of your request, which may have to be split into several pro bono matters:

A: Small organisations and initiatives with up to 10 employees

  • EUR 50 simple request
  • EUR 75 more complex request

B: Medium-sized organisation with up to 30 employees

  • EUR 100 simple request
  • EUR 130 more complex request

C: Größere Organisation bis 100 Mitarbeiter*innen

  • EUR 150 simple request
  • EUR 180 more complex request

D: Large organisation with more than 100 employees

  • EUR 200 simple request
  • EUR 250 more complex request

UPJ’s work ends upon conclusion of a consultancy agreement with the law firm. The advice provided by the law firm is subject to professional conduct rules also with regard to the handling of matters. You should clarify any difficulties that may arise directly with the law firm. We would appreciate your feedback on the law firm’s conduct.

The law firms respond to specific requests and perform the tasks discussed with you. If you need additional or different support, please submit a new legal request to UPJ using the registration form. If no law firm has yet been sourced for your request, please let UPJ know immediately so that the description of your legal request can be amended and made known to the law firms.

In principle, yes. UPJ encourages NPOs, law firms and lawyers to build a relationship with each other. However, there is no obligation to cooperate beyond the pro bono project. UPJ recommends that you register for a new referral if you have new or additional legal requests.

UPJ publishes your request for legal advice up to three times in the newsletter to the UPJ law firm mailing list. Law firms have 10 days to respond to a request. If no law firm responds within this period following the third publication, your request for legal advice will be deemed not to have been matched. UPJ will not publish the request again. In this case, UPJ will inform you that your request has not been matched.

FAQs for law firms

    • Law firms providing legal advice in Germany
    • Individual lawyers admitted to a German bar association
    • Persons authorised to provide legal advice free of charge in accordance with the German Legal Services Act (Rechtsdienstleistungsgesetz)

Professional liability insurance is generally required for registration.

You should respond within 10 days for a matter described on the matching platform and should have completed the necessary internal clearance procedures. Matters are published up to 3 times (and allocated on a first come, first served basis from the 2nd time).

UPJ talks to each organisation in advance and endeavours, where possible, to include key deadlines in the project description. Nevertheless, you should confirm all deadlines and schedules at your first meeting. Please comply with applicable professional conduct rules in this regard.

Please note that UPJ’s services end upon conclusion of the consultancy agreement between you and the organisation. You will have to clarify any problems that may arise directly with your client. If the non-binding estimate of the advisory work involved was understated in the matter description, please feel free to report this back to UPJ.

Please note that UPJ’s services end upon conclusion of the consultancy arrangement between you and the organisation. You will have to clarify any problems that may arise directly with your client. Please note that UPJ’s services end upon conclusion of the consultancy arrangement between you and the organisation.

UPJ advises all organisations that pro bono legal advice will only be provided for the requests initially agreed with them. These requests are described on the matching platform. . Please note that UPJ’s services end upon conclusion of the consultancy agreement between you and the organisation. You will have to clarify any problems that may arise directly with your client.

Yes. UPJ encourages law firms and lawyers to build relationships with the organisations they work with. However, there is no obligation to continue working with them. This is also made clear to the organisations. UPJ recommends that organisations register a new matter if they have any new or additional legal queries.

FAQ für Organisationen

Die UPJ Pro Bono Rechtsberatung vermittelt eine Vielzahl rechtlicher Themen. Eine Übersicht exemplarischer Rechtsgebiete finden Sie auf der Startseite.

Grundsätzlich kann über die UPJ Pro Bono Rechtsberatung ein breites Spektrum an Anfragen und Rechtsgebieten vermittelt werden. Insbesondere folgende Anfragen können wir jedoch nicht zur Vermittlung annehmen:

  • kurzfristige Anfragen;
  • Anfragen im Namen eines Dritten;
  • Anfragen von Einzelpersonen, die nicht im Zusammenhang mit der Gründung einer Organisation stehen;
  • verwaltungsrechtliche oder steuerliche Fragen, die nicht mit einer Rechtsfrage zusammenhängen;
  • Anfragen für gerichtliche Vertretung.

Grundsätzlich können Sie unbegrenzt viele Rechtsfragen einreichen. Manchmal können mehrere rechtliche Fragen in einem Pro-bono-Mandat zusammengeführt werden. Manchmal müssen komplexere Fragen auf mehrere Mandate aufgeteilt werden. Die Entscheidung darüber trifft UPJ nach einer Vorprüfung durch Anwält*innen und bespricht diese Entscheidung mit Ihnen. Die Aufteilung auf mehrere Mandate kann zu einem höheren Kostenbeitrag führen (s. nächste Frage).

UPJ erhebt pro Vermittlungsfall einen geringen Beitrag, sofern eine Fragestellung an eine Kanzlei vermittelt werden konnte. Dieser Beitrag soll die Ernsthaftigkeit der Fragestellung und der erforderlichen Mitwirkung verdeutlichen, damit die Rechtsberatung auch mit einem zeitnahen Ergebnis endet. Dieser Beitrag richtet sich einerseits nach der Anzahl der hauptamtlichen Mitarbeiter*innen einer NPO und andererseits nach der Komplexität Ihrer Fragestellung, die evtl. in mehrere Pro-bono-Mandate aufgeteilt werden muss:

A: Kleine Organisationen und Initiativen bis 10 Mitarbeiter*innen

  • 50 € einfache Fragestellung
  • 75 € komplexere Fragestellung


B: Mittlere Organisation bis 30 Mitarbeiter*innen

  • 100 € einfache Fragestellung
  • 130 € komplexere Fragestellung


C: Größere Organisation bis 100 Mitarbeiter*innen

  • 150 € einfache Fragestellung
  • 180 € komplexere Fragestellung


D: Große Organisation über 100 Mitarbeiter*innen

  • 200 € einfache Fragestellung
  • 250 € komplexere Fragestellung

Mit Abschluss eines Beratungsvertrages mit der Kanzlei endet die Tätigkeit von UPJ. Die Beratung durch die Kanzlei unterliegt berufsrechtlichen Vorschriften auch im Hinblick auf die Bearbeitung von Mandaten. Etwaige auftretende Schwierigkeiten müssen Sie direkt mit der Kanzlei klären. Um einen Hinweis auf das Verhalten der Kanzlei als Feedback wird gebeten.

Die Kanzleien melden sich für spezifische Fragestellungen und führen die mit Ihnen besprochenen Aufgaben aus. Wenn Sie zusätzliche oder andere Unterstützung benötigen, senden Sie UPJ bitte Ihre neue Rechtsfrage über das Anmeldeformular. Wenn Ihre Fragestellung noch nicht vermittelt wurde, geben Sie UPJ bitte umgehend Bescheid, um die Beschreibung Ihrer Rechtsfrage für die Kanzleien zu ändern.

Grundsätzlich ja. UPJ ermutigt NPO, Kanzleien sowie Anwält*innen, eine Beziehung miteinander aufzubauen. Doch es besteht keine Verpflichtung, über das Pro-bono-Projekt hinaus zusammenzuarbeiten. UPJ empfiehlt Ihnen, sich ggf. mit neuen oder weiteren Rechtsfragen für eine erneute Vermittlung anzumelden.

UPJ schreibt ihre Rechtsberatungsanfrage bis zu drei Mal im Rundbrief an den UPJ-Kanzleiverteiler aus. Die Kanzleien können sich innerhalb von 10 Tagen auf die Anfragen bewerben. Meldet sich innerhalb der Frist beim dritten Mal keine Kanzlei, gilt Ihre Rechtsberatungsanfrage als nicht vermittelt. Eine weitere Ausschreibung durch UPJ erfolgt nicht. UPJ informiert Sie in diesem Fall über die Nichtvermittlung.

FAQ für Kanzleien

  • Kanzleien, die in Deutschland rechtsberatend tätig sind
  • Einzelne Anwält*innen mit deutscher Zulassung
  • Inhouse-Jurist*innen
  • nach dem Rechtsdienstleistungsgesetz (RDG) zur unentgeltlichen rechtlichen Beratung befugte Personen.
  • Grundsätzlich ist eine Berufshaftpflichtversicherung Voraussetzung für die Registrierung.

 

Sie sollten sich innerhalb von 10 Tagen für ein Mandat, das im Newsletter beschrieben wird, bewerben und die dafür erforderlichen internen Klärungen herbeigeführt haben. Neue Mandate werden hier jeweils als „NEU“ markiert. Mandate verbleiben ggf. bis zu 2-3 Monate in der Fallliste.

UPJ spricht vorab mit jeder Organisation und versucht, wenn möglich, wichtige Termine schon in der Projektbeschreibung zu nennen. Dennoch sollten Sie in Ihrem Erstgespräch alle Fristen und Termine nochmals abstimmen. Bitte beachten Sie dabei die berufsrechtlichen Vorschriften.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Tätigkeit von UPJ mit Abschluss des Beratungsvertrages zwischen Ihnen und der NPO endet. Etwaige auftretende Schwierigkeiten müssen Sie direkt mit Ihrer*m Mandant*in klären. Sollte die unverbindliche Schätzung des Beratungsaufwands bei Beratungsausschreibung zu gering gewesen sein, können Sie uns dies selbstverständlich als Feedback zurückmelden.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Tätigkeit von UPJ mit Abschluss des Beratungsverhältnisses zwischen Ihnen und der NPO endet. Etwaige auftretende Schwierigkeiten müssen Sie direkt mit Ihrer*m Mandant*in klären. Um einen Hinweis auf das Verhalten der NPO als Feedback wird gebeten.

UPJ weist alle NPO darauf hin, dass die Pro-bono-Rechtsberatung nur für die eingangs mit ihr abgestimmten Fragestellungen durchgeführt wird. Diese werden im Newsletter beschrieben, auf den Sie sich im Rahmen Ihrer Verfügbarkeiten gemeldet haben. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Tätigkeit von UPJ mit Abschluss des Beratungsvertrages zwischen Ihnen und der NPO endet. Etwaige auftretende Schwierigkeiten müssen Sie direkt mit Ihrer*m Mandant*in klären.

Ja. UPJ ermutigt Kanzleien sowie Anwält*innen, Beziehungen zu den NPO aufzubauen, mit denen sie arbeiten. Doch es besteht keine Verpflichtung, weiterhin für sie zu arbeiten. Darauf werden auch die NPO hingewiesen. Den NPO empfiehlt UPJ, sich ggf. mit neuen oder weiteren Rechtsfragen für eine neue Vermittlung anzumelden.